Type to search

CCAPP Election Sets the Stage for a Productive 2017

CCAPP Election Sets the Stage for a Productive 2017

With multiple nominations and tight races for California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals (CCAPP) board of directors positions, CCAPP started 2017 with a full board of motivated professionals. CCAPP recently conducted elections for board members and district representatives, and made appointments for vacant positions, filling all slots on its board of directors. The newly elected and appointed members will help to shape the CCAPP organization and thereby the profession and industry in California. 


“I was extremely pleased with the number of great nominations we had this year,” said CCAPP CEO Pete Nielsen. “This level of interest is indicative of how dedicated and passionate our members are about CCAPP and its role in leading the state and the nation,” he continued.


Topping the CCAPP ticket is Alan Johnson, who will serve as president. Mr. Johnson comes with many years of experience in the profession of substance use disorder (SUD) counseling. He managed state contracts at Healthright 360 and provided aftercare for the criminal justice population. Johnson has been an active leader in the alcohol drug profession, where he has helped to develop and refine certification and educational components for CCAPP to ensure that highly competent professionals are performing substance abuse treatment in the state. He takes the lead as CCAPP tackles numerous high profile issues, including the implementation of Proposition 64, the state’s recreational marijuana statute. 


“I am optimistic about 2017 and can’t wait to get the ball rolling,” said Johnson. “I predict that we will have a historic year in which the nation will be taking notes.”


Johnson will take the helm as the organization seeks to shepherd the state toward an “on-demand” addiction treatment system. Johnson and fellow executive committee members are currently drafting a four-bill legislative package entitled the California Comprehensive Addiction Reform Act (C-CARA), introduced in January 2017.


“It is challenging work to put all the pieces together, but I am happy to say that we all share a vision where Californians no longer die while waiting for treatment. This inspires us to think beyond what was once impossible to a new future in which addiction treatment is accessible to anyone who asks for it,” said Johnson. 


Johnson, an original architect of CCAPP’s nine-point plan and strategic plan, will continue to implement ambitious strategy for addressing the many concerns that are important to programs and providers. Top priorities this year include: 


  • Leading and collaborating on insurance provider benefit assignment laws
  • Improving Medi-Cal reimbursement under the state’s organized delivery system
  • Improving professional recognition via licensure and workforce development for counselors
  • Influencing legislative policy related to the prevention, education, and treatment of marijuana use
  • Introducing legislation to support certification of small outpatient programs (SOPs)
  • Solving provider enrollment issues
  • Professionalizing and leading the peer support movement
  • Collaborating with the Sober Living Network to pass a bill requiring registration/certification of addiction recovery residences
  • Actively participating in shaping the six regulatory reform packages the Department of Health Care Services has introduced in 2016


Johnson will join Past President and newly elected Vice President Lori Newman on the board. During Ms. Newman’s time as CCAPP president she oversaw the development of CCAPP’s legislative program, including the introduction CCAPP’s 2016 counselor licensure bill, Senate Bill 1101. She also led the organization through the finalization of the consolidation of the past organizations. CCAPP expressed appreciation of Ms. Newman’s willingness to serve as vice president of the CCAPP board and to lend her more than twenty years of experience as a certified counselor, program manager, executive director, and an oral examiner for individuals taking the TAP 21 examination at its annual meeting in October. 


“Lori has been a wonderful partner in this organization, and instrumental in moving CCAPP to the forefront of the profession,” said Nielsen. “I look forward to continuing to work with her on future projects” he stated.


CCAPP welcomed Jennifer Carvalho as its treasurer. Ms. Carvalho currently is the CEO of Skyway House, and is very involved in her community of Oroville, having served on the Oroville Area Chamber of Commerce board of directors, the Oroville Recreation Area Advisory committee, and the Oroville Economic Development Corporation board of directors. Ms. Carvalho has also served as a member of the Butte County Behavioral Health Mental Health Services Act advisory committee.  


Warren Daniels returns to the executive committee as the secretary for the CCAPP board. His many past achievements include serving as president of CCAPP and CAADAC, and serving as secretary for IC&RC. He has led the organization’s legislative program for its first two years of existence and was a driving force in building the coalition that pushed for dedicating marijuana tax revenue for addiction treatment. 


The 2017 board includes members who are new to the board, as well as some individuals who have been a part of the CCAPP board from the beginning of the organization and who were instrumental in helping to shape CCAPP into the organization that it has now become. 


“Their extraordinary representation of the profession in providing the highest credentialing standards; in ensuring representation in the legislature for both programs and professionals; and in fostering innovative ideas to help move the profession forward is unparalleled,” said Nielsen. 


Newly elected district board members include Michael Barnes from district four and Shellie Bowman from district one. Newly elected statewide members include Evan Amarni and Cheryl Houk, who will serve as program members. Stephanie Sobka was also reelected to the board as a program member. New CCAPP credentialing board members John Bokanovich and Tabatha Hernandez have replaced retiring members Christie Holmes and Glendora Kirkpatrick. Daniel Chagolla and Eric Smith are returning, and Willie Cosgrave is welcomed as new board members to the Education Institute board. The Education Institute board welcomes Rose Wheeler as its chair. Rick Alsop, Joe Aaragon, Jerry Synold, Christie Holmes, and Glendora Kirkpatrick were thanked for their dedication and years of service at the annual meeting in October.


“We owe the early board members of CCAPP a tremendous debt of gratitude,” said Nielsen. “This group of individuals has left a permanent mark on the future of the profession. Their input has been beyond valuable. Their contributions have improved the quality of treatment in California for generations to come,” he concluded.


CCAPP members are excited to be involved with the election process. Every year valid CCAPP voting members are given the opportunity to give input by nominating members to the CCAPP board. 


“It is exciting to see CCAPP members come together and participate in this way in the CCAPP organization. As a membership-driven organization, the members are the ones that push CCAPP forward,” said Nielsen.